USA Today best-selling author Marty Wingate writes mysteries set in England. In the First Edition Library series (Berkley), Hayley Burke is the curator of a collection of books from the Golden Age of Mystery. Book two, Murder Is a Must, will be released October 2020. Marty also writes the Potting Shed books (Alibi) featuring Pru Parke, a middle-aged American gardener transplanted from Texas to England, and the Birds of a Feather series (Alibi) follows Julia Lanchester, bird lover, who runs a tourist office in a Suffolk village. 

Marty also writes historical fiction. Glamour Girls (Alcove Press, January 2021) follows the story of a young woman pilot in World War Two Britain.

Marty prefers on-the-ground research whenever possible, and so she and her husband regularly travel to England and Scotland, where she can be found tracing the steps of her characters, stopping for tea and a slice of Victoria sponge in a café, or enjoying a swift half in a pub

What You’ll Learn:

  • How Marty went from Journalist to Mystery Writer
  • Marty’s advice for women in midlife
  • How does she stay focused on her goals
  • Where in Marty’s journey did she struggle with trusting the process
  • Where does Marty find inspiration!
  • Marty’s favorite Gardens in the UK
  • How does Marty Calm the Chaos in her own life


Marty Wingate:  Author of The First Edition Library mysteries (Berkley)

The Bodies in the Library 

Murder Is a Must (October 2020)

WW2 historical women’s fiction Glamour Girls

(Alcove Press, January 2021)


The Potting Shed and Birds of a Feather mysteries 


Connect with Deborah for coaching here

Take the mid life Quiz here

Enjoy the show? Don’t miss an episode, follow the podcast on Spotify, I HEART RADIO and Apple Podcast, and leave a review. Listen to more episodes here.

Career Change
Resume Audit

Are you a professional woman, over 40, looking to change careers?  Changing career paths requires more than updating a resume and hoping for the best.

That’s why I created the Career Change Resume Audit. When you’re trying to open a door to a new opportunity, you need help standing out in a crowd.

In a one-to-one, 30-minute virtual appointment we will:

Don’t let another day go by without taking action towards your dream career. The time to begin is now.